Akufo-Addo to deputy ministers: Justify your selection, be loyal

The president admonishes his deputy ministers to cooperate with their bosses at their respective ministries to realise his goals for Ghana

Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has charged his second-term deputy ministers to justify their selection by their works and to remain loyal to the leadership and direction of their substantive ministers.

Addressing the newly sworn in deputy ministers at the Jubilee House on Friday (25 June), Akufo-Addo charged the new appointees to give off their best in order for him to succeed.

“We have launched the GHC 100 billion Ghana Cares Obaatanpa project to respond to it (the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic), to revitalise and develop our economy. The objectives of the project demand that all of you gathered here bring your “A” game to the table to prosecute it,” Akufo-Addo said.

He added: “Your success in this endeavor will be a consequence of three things; first, it is the spirit of loyalty you exhibit to your ministers. Article 79, clause 1 of the Constitution of the Republic provides that a deputy minister is appointed by the President in consultation with the Minister and with the prior approval of Parliament to assist the minister in the performance of his or her functions.

“Your basic responsibility is thus, to assist your minister in the performance of his or her functions. Loyalty to the minister is a fundamental premise for the success of your work. I will not countenance any acts of disloyalty or subversion of your minister, for I will take such acts as disloyalty to me personally and by inference, disloyalty to the state and party.”


Akufo-Addo also noted that the most critical thing that has to guide the deputy ministers is their individual integrity and the collective integrity of the government as a whole. He urged them to be guided by the fact that they are providing public service and not to engage in private gain.

“You have to remember at all times, the solemn commitment we in the NPP have made collectively and individually, jointly and severally, to serve the Ghanaian people honestly and competently. We are called to these public appointments to provide public service not to promote our person gains.

“An opportunity is being offered you to serve your country in an elevated capacity. Seize the opportunity with humility but with determination and perform always,” he said.


Speaking on behalf of her colleagues, the Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry, Nana Ama Dokua Asiamah-Adjei, assured Akufo-Addo that they will engage, consult and collaborate with all stakeholders in the governance structure in their bid to assist their ministers to deliver.

“We are privileged and grateful to be given these valuable opportunities to serve the country in this capacity and we will give it our utmost best to justify these appointments,” she said.

The appointees

The Minister of State at the Ministry of Finance sworn into office was Charles Adu-Boahene. The 39 deputy ministers who were sworn into office by the president are; for the Finance Ministry, Abena Osei-Asare, MP; John Ampontuah Kumah, MP; for Trade and Industry Ministry, Nana Ama Dokua Asiamah-Adjei, MP, Michael Okyere Baafi, MP and Herbert Krapa. Dr Mohammed Amin Adam, MP; William Owuraku Aidoo, MP and Andrew Kofi Egyapa Mercer, MP, were appointed to the Ministry of Energy.

The Local Government, Decentralization & Rural Development Ministry had Augustine Collins Ntim, MP; Osei Bonsu Amoah, MP and Martin Kwaku Adjei-Mensah Korsah appointed. Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration had, Thomas Mbomba, MP, Kwaku Ampratwum-Sarpong, MP. The Office of Attorney-General and Ministry of Justice, had Alfred Tuah-Yeboah and Ms. Diana Asonaba Dapaah appointed as its DeputyMinisters. The two Deputy Ministers for the Food and Agriculture Ministry are Yaw Frimpong Addo, MP and Mohammed Hardi Tufeiru, MP. Rev. John Ntim Fordjour, MP and Gifty Twum-Ampofo, MP have been appointed to the Ministry of Education.

For the Ministry of Health, Tina Gifty Naa Ayeley Mensah, MP and Alhaji Mahama Asei Seini, MP have been appointed. Benito Owusu-Bio, MP and George Mireku Duker, MP, are appointed to the Lands and Natural Resources Ministry. The Roads and Highways Ministry has Mavis Nkansah-Boadu, MP and Stephen Pambiin Jalulah, MP as its appointed Deputy Ministers. Alhassan Tampuli Sulemana, MP and Frederick Obeng Adom, MP, are appointed to the Ministry of Transport.

Defence Ministry and the Ministry of Interior have Kofi Amankwah-Manu, MP and Naana Eyiah, MP, respectively. Ama Pomaa Boateng, MP, is appointed as Deputy Minister to the Ministry of Communications and Digitalization. Abdulai Abanga, MP, is appointed to the Works and Housing Ministry whilst Moses Anim, MP, is appointed to Ministry of Fisheries and Aquaculture Development. Kwaku Asante-Boateng, MP is appointed as Deputy Minister to the Ministry of Railway Development.

The rest are; Amidu Issahaku Chinnia, MP appointed to the Ministry of Sanitation and Water Resources; Mark Okraku-Mantey to the Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture; Lariba Zuweira Abudu, MP who is appointed to the Gender, Children and Social Protection Ministry; Bright Wireko-Brobbey, MP who takes appointment at the Employment and Labour Relations Ministry; Ms. Fatimatu Abubakar, appointed to the Ministry of Information and Evans Opoku Bobie, MP, appointed to the Ministry of Youth and Sports.

Wilberforce Asare

Asaase Radio 99.5 – tune in or log on to broadcasts online
Follow us on Twitter: @asaaseradio995

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected