Editors-PickElection Nerve CentreGhanaHeadlineLeadershipNewsPoliticsPublic Service

Bawumia set to present campaign team to NEC on Monday 19 February

The list to be presented to NEC during its scheduled meeting will reflect the philosophy, strategy, and focus of the NPP’s 2024 campaign

The presidential candidate of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) and sitting Vice President of the Republic, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia, will, on Monday, 19 February 2024, present the list of his campaign team to the National Executive Committee (NEC) for its consideration and approval, Asaase News has learned.

Asaase News sources familiar with the campaign composition process undertaken by the NPP presidential candidate, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia, indicate that the NPP leader has been carrying out broad consultations within the party rank and file.

“The list to be presented to NEC during its scheduled meeting on Monday will reflect the philosophy, strategy, and focus of the NPP’s 2024 campaign,” one source at the party headquarters in Asylum Down said.

Following the presentation of the list to NEC, “Team Bawumia” is expected to be announced after the meeting with some political heavyweights and dynamic individuals in the mix.

Last Wednesday, President Akufo-Addo announced the most radical reshuffle in the history of the 4th Republic. 13 Ministers and 10 deputy ministers lost their jobs, with 11 new deputy ministers appointed and 9 new ministers-designate appointed, and 5 ministers being reassigned and 1 deputy minister also reassigned.

It reduced the average age of Akufo-Addo’s government to 47. Dr Bawumia’s campaign team is expected to have a mix of experience and youth, given the tough battle ahead and the kind of dynamism required.

Key personalities

Key personalities expected to be named in the campaign team include Dan Botwe, the immediate past Minister for Local Government, Decentralisation, and Rural Development, Justin Frimpong Kodua, General Secretary of the NPP, Frederick Opare-Ansah, former NPP Member of Parliament for Suhum and former parliamentary Chief Whip, Kwabena Agyepong, former General Secretary, Nana Akomea, Dennis Miracles Aboagye, Anthony Karbo and Krobea Asante.

Reporting by Wilberforce Asare in Accra

Asaase Radio 99.5 broadcasts on radio via 99.5 in Accra, 98.5 in Kumasi, 99.7 in Tamale, 100.3 in Cape Coast and on our affiliates Azay FM 89.1 in Takoradi, Bawku FM 101.5 in Bawku, Bead FM 99.9 in Bimbilla, Somua FM 89.9 in Gushegu, Stone City 90.7 in Ho, Mining City 89.5 in Tarkwa and Wale FM 106.9 in Walewale
Tune in to broadcasts online: asaaseradio.com, Sound Garden and TuneIn
Follow us on Twitter: @asaaseradio995
Live streaming on facebook.com/asaase99.5. Also on YouTube: 
Join the conversation. Call: 020 000 9951 or 059 415 7777. Or WhatsApp: 020 000 0995.


Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected