Court sets January 2024 for treason trial verdict

According to the court, whether the accused persons file written submissions on that day or not, it would give its judgement

The High Court trying nine persons accused of attempted overthrow of the government has set 24 January 2024, for its verdict.

On that day, whether accused persons file written submissions or not, the court would give its judgement.

The Attorney General informed the three-panel court made up of Court of Appeal Justices: Hafisata Amaleboba, Stephen Oppong and Afia Serwaa Asare-Botwe, that it had filed and served all parties its submission.

However, Ms Rita Ali, defense counsel for Bright Alan Debrah Ofosu and Victor Kwadjoga Adawudu, lawyer for four of the accused persons, told the Court that they were yet to file their submissions.

Adawudu said he had not been able to do so because he had not been well and had a lot of work to do whilst Ms Ali said she came in late when Debrah’s counsel abandoned him during the trial but promised to catch up.

They were, therefore, given up to December 13, 2023, to do so.

Counsels for some others said either their submissions were being done or they were yet to serve other parties.

The court on 17 October 2023, directed all lawyers to file their written legal documents on or before Friday, 17 November 2023, prior to the judgement.

The direction was followed by Warrant Officer Class II (WOII) Esther Saan Dekuwine’s evidence-in-chief, with the prosecution also closing its case after which trial was adjourned to November 22, 2023, for direction on judgement.

Dr Frederick Mac-Palm, the alleged leader of the plot, now deceased, Donya Kafui, Bright Alan Debrah, Johannes Zikpi, Colonel Samuel Kojo Gameli, WOII Esther, Lance Airforce Corporal (LAC) Ali Solomon, LAC Seidu Abubakar, Corporal Sylvester Akankpewon and Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP) Dr Benjamin Kwasi Agordzo were arrested in 2019.

They were then committed by the Kaneshie District Court for trial at the High Court in 2020.
ACP Dr Agordzo was the first to be granted bail by Justice Ekow Baiden.

The trial was handled by Justice Asiedu, a Supreme Court Judge, then the Court of Appeal Judge with additional responsibility as a High Judge.

Later, the trial was taken over by the three-member court, with Justices Stephen Oppong and Hafisata Amaleboba, all Court of Appeal judges serving also as High Court judges.

Asaase Radio 99.5 broadcasts on radio via 99.5 in Accra, 98.5 in Kumasi, 99.7 in Tamale, 100.3 in Cape Coast and on our affiliates Bawku FM 101.5 in Bawku, Beats FM 99.9 in Bimbilla, Somua FM 89.9 in Gushegu, Stone City 90.7 in Ho, Mining City 89.5 in Tarkwa and Wale FM 106.9 in Walewale
Tune in to broadcasts online:, Sound Garden and TuneIn
Follow us on Twitter: @asaaseradio995
Live streaming on Also on YouTube: 
Join the conversation. Call: 020 000 9951 or 059 415 7777. Or WhatsApp: 020 000 0995.


Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected