Site icon Asaase Radio

Glitz Africa: Ursula Owusu-Ekuful honoured ‘Excellence in Governance’ award

The Minister for Communications and Digitalisation, Ursula Owusu-Ekuful has been honored ‘Excellence in Governance’ award at the 2022 Glitz Africa Ghana Women of the Year Honors held Sunday (7 August) in Accra.

Owusu-Ekuful was among 13 women who were recognised for contributing to national development in various sectors at the Glitz awards this year.

She was honoured for having trained about 8, 000 girls in ICT and inspired young women to enhance their skill to make a living for themselves.

In her acceptance speech, Ursula said, “I want to thank Glitz Africa for recognising the little that we put in empowering women and girls wherever we find ourselves.”

According to her, “To whom much is given, much is expected. I stood on the shoulders of many women to get to where I am and I think it’s incumbent on all of us to also provide shoulder on for others to lean on.”

“There is nothing you can’t do if you put your mind to it. It is worth it to see young girls say that this initiative that we are championing is needed.”

Below is the list of honorees
• Excellence in Media – Oheneyere Gifty Anti
• Excellence in Health – Prof Dr. Lorna Renner
• Excellence in Business – Esther Cobbah
• Humanitarian of the Year – Otiko Afisah Djaba
• Excellence in Public Service – Alice A. Ofori-Atta
• Excellence in Education – Prof. Jane Naana Opoku-Agyemang
• Corporate Personality – Abena Amoah
• Excellence in Governance – Hon. Ursula Owusu-Ekuful
• Young Star – Gyakie
• Lifetime Achievement – Gifty Affenyi Dadzie
• Excellence in Music – Ohemaa Mercy
• Fashion Force – Aisha Ayensu
• Excellence in Technology – Regina Honu

Hosted by Asaase Radio’s Naa Ashorkor, the event saw exhilarating performances from MzVee and Gospel Musician MOG among others.

Recipients of this year’s honors were selected by a competent board of achievers who used objective criteria to determine the list of deserving women in different fields.

The board members include: Kofi Abotsi, Kojo Yankson, Claudia Lumor, Emma Morrison, Nana Oye Bampoe Addo, Theresa Ayoade, Charles Mensah, Rubby Kwakye, Maataa Opare, Doris Mawuse Aglobitse and Kojo Poku.

The Ghana Women of the Year Honors is a ceremony where women excelling and making great impact in various fields of endeavour are celebrated and their stories shared so as to inspire the next generation of ambitious and impact-conscious women.

Andrew Sepah

Asaase Radio 99.5 – tune in or log on to broadcasts online
99.5 in Accra, 101.5 in Bawku, 99.9 in Bimbilla, 100.3 in Cape Coast, 90.7 in Ho, 98.5 in Kumasi, 99.7 in Tamale, 89.5 in Tarkwa and 106.9 in Walewale
Join the conversation. Call: 020 000 9951 or 059 415 7777. Or WhatsApp: 020 000 0995.

Exit mobile version