HeadlineOil & Gas/Mining

Help mitigate impact of COVID-19 on Petroleum Commission, Energy Minister charges board

The Minister of Energy urges the board of the Petroleum Commission to help diminish the effects of the coronavirus pandemic on its operations

The Minister of Energy, John Peter Amewu, has charged the governing board of the Petroleum Commission to offer the Commission strategic help and support as a matter of importance to mitigate the effect of the COVID-19 pandemic on its operations.

Addressing the board after administering the oaths of office and secrecy to them for a second three-year term in office, the Energy Minister, represented by Joseph Cudjoe, the deputy minister of energy in charge of finance and infrastructure, who is also the MP for Effia in the Western Region, noted that 2020 has been a difficult year because of the distress caused by COVID-19.

“I know COVID-19 has created challenges for the Commission’s operations and revenue targets for 2020. A number of programmes and activities have had to be suspended, cancelled or postponed.

“I expect the board to help management to implement strategies that will mitigate the effect of the pandemic on the operations of the Commission,” the Energy Minister said.

Members of the governing board of the Petroleum Commission with Joseph Cudjoe, deputy energy minister in charge of finance and infrastructure and MP for Effia (centre)

Chairman of the board

The board chairman, Stephen Sekyere-Abankwa, speaking on behalf of the seven-member board, expressed their appreciation to the President of the Republic for the confidence reposed in them.

He added that they will support the Petroleum Commission to navigate its way past the negative impact that COVID-19 has had on operations in the Ghanaian oil and gas industry.

“We are optimistic that our tenure will bring advancement and prosperity to the Commission’s operations and ensure that the international oil companies adopt best practices in their operations,” Sekyere-Abankwa said.

The members

The governing board is chaired by Stephen Sekyere-Abankwa.

The seven other members of the board are Egbert Faibille Jnr, chief executive officer of the Petroleum Commission, Professor Daniel Asiedu, Mohammed Hardi Tufeiru, Dr Jemima Nunoo and Henry Kwabena Kokofu, executive director of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).

Wilberforce Asare / Asaase Radio

* Asaase Radio 99.5 – tune in or log on to broadcasts online.
Follow us on Twitter: @asaaseradio995
#asaaseradio  #TVOL

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected