Site icon Asaase Radio

New CAF standing committee members appointed

CAF (Confédération Africaine de Football) has announced a list of appointments to head CAF’s standing committees at its executive council meeting in Kigali.

This follows the executive committee’s decision to ratify all nominations presented by its emergency committee.

The nominations were originally drafted by the CAF president, Patrice Motsepe, and presented to the emergency committee, which subsequently forwarded the names to the executives for ratification.

The following people have been confirmed to serve on committees:


Fouzi Lekjaa has been retained as the head of the finance committee. The Moroccan Football Federation president and FIFA Council member will be assisted by Andrew Kamanga, president of FAZ (Football Association of Zambia), as the vice-president.

Organising Committee of the Total Africa Cup of Nations

Dr Patrice Motsepe will lead the committee, with the support of two vice-presidents:  Augustin Emmanuel Senghor, president of the Senegalese Football Federation, and Amaju Melvin Pinnick, president of the Nigerian Football Federation.

Organising Committee of the Total African Nations Championship

The acting president of FECAFOOT, Seidou Mbombo Njoya, will superintend the committee with support from the FUFA (Uganda) president, Moses Magogo as vice-president.

Organising Committee of the Interclub Competitions and Club Licensing

Ahmed Yahya heads the Inter-clubs competitions and club licensing committee. He will be assisted by Maclean Letshwiti (president of the Bostwana Football Association) and. Djibrilla Hamidou Hima (president of the Niger Football Federation).

The committee is responsible for organsing the CAF Total Champions League, the CAF Total Confederation Cup and the Total Super Cup, as well as the new Women’s Champions League in collaboration with the Organising Committee for Women’s Football.

Organising Committee for Youth Competitions

Suleiman Waberi leads the committee and will be assisted by two vice-presidents, Pierre Alain Mouguengui (Gabon) and Moustapha Ishola Raji (Liberia).

Women’s Football Organising Committee

Kanizat Ibrahim (Comoros) replaces Isha Johansen (Sierra Leone) as the head of women’s football on the continent. Johansen will continue to serve on the committee in a different capacity: as vice-president.

Development Committee for Futsal and Beach Soccer

Sita Sangare (former FBF president in Burkina Faso) has been appointed president of this committee seeking to develop two exciting new areas for the sport in Africa. The vice-president is Abdiqani Saïd Arab (Somalia).

Committee for Legal Affairs and National Associations

Augustin Senghor, a lawyer by profession, takes charge of legal affairs with support from Elvis Chetty (vice-president).

In one of the few changes made, Wadie Jary, the president of the Tunisian Football Federation, will now run CAF’s medical committee.

Victor Atsu Tamakloe

Asaase Radio 99.5 – tune in or log on to broadcasts online
Follow us on Twitter: @asaaseradio995




Exit mobile version