Hohoe Labour Council elects new TUC executives

Sixteen new leaders for the Ghana TUC’s executive committees in the Volta Region are sworn in to serve a four-year term

Ghana News Agency (Hohoe, Volta Region) – The Hohoe Municipal Council of Labour, an offshoot of the Ghana Trades Union Congress, has elected 16 new executives to the council’s executive, women’s and youth committees for the next four years.

Gideon Amesinu (chair), Henry Ogyaadu (first vice-chairperson), Esther Agbeke (second vice-chairperson), Janet Emefa Obro-Adibo Goka (secretary), Vincent Baddah (assistant secretary/organiser) and David Zormelo (trustee) were elected to serve as executive committee members.

The representatives of the women’s committee are Zenobia Sena Attoh (chair), Stella Agboyo (vice-chair), Jemima Boateng (secretary) and Juliana Morny (executive member).

Edith Abla Amenuvor-Afewu, acting Volta regional secretary of the Ghana TUC, who swore in the new executives, urged them to work hard to ensure progress for the council in the municipality.

Amenuvor-Afewu said that inadequate funding was a challenge to the effectiveness of the council. The local council’s grievances would be forwarded to the appropriate authority for the attention required.

Inusah Ridwan (chair), Valerius Enam Dzimale (first vice-chair), Jacqueline Mawuena (second vice-chair), Eleke Kojo Asamoah (secretary), Enyonam Akorli (assistant secretary) and Elizabeth Ahiaduvor (organiser) were elected as youth committee representatives on the council.

The council also passed a resolution on how it should be financed and called for training programmes for members.

Members also held discussions on the 11th Quadrennial Delegates’ Congress of the TUC and the extended 75th-anniversary celebrations of the congress.

Edward Williams

* Asaase Radio 99.5 – now live on your radio. Tune in or log on to broadcasts online.
* Twitter: @asaaseradio995

Ghana News Agency
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button