NPP primary: Kyeretwie pulls out; Nyantakyi, eight others pick forms for Ejisu seat

Kyeretwie-Amponsah's withdrawal follows a similar decision by the constituency chairman, Kofi Ampofo Agyapong, both citing reasons of party unity and cohesion

Kwame Kyeretwie-Amponsah, the director of external affairs for the New Patriotic Party (NPP), has reversed his decision to contest the Ejisu seat in the upcoming elections.

This decision comes after extensive consultations with top party officials. The NPP stalwart formally communicated this decision to the party’s election committee on Wednesday (3 April).

Kyeretwie-Amponsah’s withdrawal follows a similar decision by the constituency chairman, Kofi Ampofo Agyapong, both citing reasons of party unity and cohesion.

“I [had] reached out to constituency executives, and coordinators to let them know that I am interested”, Amponsah said. “And so, while doing my consultations it became critical that currently as I stand I oversee the party’s external engagement beyond that I am a member of the manifesto committee on foreign affairs…And so, with my current position, I have a lot to offer and that is more critical to the success of our victory in December 2024 so we are pushing this to the back burner, so we do what is expected of us”.

Meanwhile, nine individuals have so far purchased forms for the parliamentary slot at the close of nominations on Wednesday.

The NPP has scheduled the election of a parliamentary candidate for the constituency for Saturday, 13 April, 2024, following the passing of the Member of Parliament (MP) and Deputy Finance Minister, John Ampontuah Kumah.

The party’s general secretary, Justin Kodua Frimpong, announced in a statement that prospective parliamentary candidates could purchase and submit their nomination forms from Tuesday, April 2 to Thursday, 4 April 2024, at the constituency party office.

The NPP stated that an aspiring parliamentary candidate must obtain nomination forms after paying a non-refundable application fee of GHC3,000 in a banker’s draft payable to the NPP national headquarters, Accra.

However, the statement noted that women, youth (individuals aged between 18 and 40 years), and persons with disabilities (PWDs) will receive a 50% discount on the filing fees, reducing their non-refundable filing fee to GHC17,500.

See the full list of the potential candidates:

1. Hon Helena Mensa

2. Lawyer Kwabena Boateng

3. Lawyer Portia Baffoe Abronye

4. Madam Pokuaa Boitey

5. Dr Evans Duah

6. Lawyer Kwasi Nyantakyi

7. Klinsman Karikari Mensah

8. Hon Aaron Prince Duah

9. Maame Yaa Aboagye

Reporting By Bright Yeboah, Ejisu, Ashanti Region

Asaase Radio 99.5 broadcasts on radio via 99.5 in Accra, 98.5 in Kumasi, 99.7 in Tamale, 100.3 in Cape Coast and on our affiliates Azay FM 89.1 in Takoradi, Bawku FM 101.5 in Bawku, Beats FM 99.9 in Bimbilla, Somua FM 89.9 in Gushegu, Stone City 90.7 in Ho, Mining City 89.5 in Tarkwa and Wale FM 106.9 in Walewale
Tune in to broadcasts, Sound Garden and TuneIn
Follow us on Twitter: @asaaseradio995
Live streaming on Also on YouTube: 
Join the conversation. Call: 020 000 9951 or 0548888995. Or WhatsApp: 020 000 0995.


Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected