NPP race: Alan camp “discovers” anomalies in super delegates’ album, demands clarification

Members raise their concerns in a letter dated 2 August 2023, signed by Nana Ohene-Ntow, the campaign’s head of elections planning and management, and addressed to the chairman of the NPP presidential elections committee

The campaign team of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) presidential candidate hopeful, Alan John Kwadwo Kyerematen says they have discovered anomalies in the proposed album for the party’s upcoming super delegates conference (SDC) after an audit they have conducted.

They raise these concerns in a letter dated 2 August 2023, signed by Nana Ohene-Ntow, the head of elections planning and management for the Kyerematen campaign, and addressed to the chairman of the NPP presidential elections committee.

“I write for and on behalf of the Alan for President (A4P) campaign,” the letter says.

“Aspirants were advised to review the register for the special delegates’ conference (SDC) and to return their comments within one week of receipt of the register.

“After an audit and review of the guidelines for the SDC, please find the comments of the A4P campaign as follows:

Audit of register for eligibility

“The audit was conducted based on presence in the register used for the last internal elections,” the letter says.

“In line with the directive of the general secretary, no changes are to be made in the register until the next round of internal party elections.”

The A4P letter goes on to identify specific concerns its author has as far as the super delegates’ conference album is concerned.

Upper East Region

“The regional research and elections officer, Edward Naabil (deceased) has been replaced with Daniel Ziba – appointed. Given that the general secretary specifically stated that the register used for the last national elections is not to be touched, the appointment in replacement of the late Naabil is an anomaly requiring explanation,” the letter of objection says.

Central Region

“Mfantsiman chairman Gibrine Adams (deceased) and founding member Kwasi Kyere, also deceased, remain in the Register but the names are not eligible to vote,” the complaint says.

Volta Region

“Per the rules, it is improper that the deceased Adaklu constituency chairman Shapah Seth, has been replaced with the Adaklu constituency first vice-chairman Amegboe. Therefore, the first vice-chairperson is not eligible to vote,” the letter continues.

Ashanti Region

“The second regional vice-chairperson, Victoria Nyarko Kusi, has been duplicated as Victoria Owusu-Achiaw, redesignated in the same album as regional representative to National Council. The identity needs to be streamlined.”

The National Executive Committee

“The Chief of Staff (CoS) has been listed to vote under the category of NEC. However, per the constitution, the office of CoS is not part of the NEC. Therefore, the Honourable Chief of Staff is not entitled to vote,” the letter says.

The letter of complaint from the A4P campaign continues, arguing: “There must be clarity on the eligibility status of appointed chairpersons of Committees of National Council.”

On the matter of scanning for electronic photographic devices, the A4P teams argues that “specific responsibility for scanning for electronic devices [should] be vested in the Police Service”.


The NPP super delegates’ conference is scheduled to take place on Saturday 26 August 2023 in all 16 regional capitals, with an additional voting centre at the NPP head office in Accra.

The Vice-President of the Republic and leading contender in the New Patriotic Party’s presidential primaries, after balloting, picked the last spot (tenth position) on the ballot paper for the party’s super delegates’ conference in which the ten contestants for the NPP flagbearership will be trimmed down to five for the main polls taking place on Saturday 4 November 2023.

The two closest contestants of the vice-president – Kennedy Agyapong and Alan Kyerematen – picked the first and second slots, respectively. Joe Ghartey, the former minister of railways development and sitting MP for Essikado-Ketan in the Western Region, took the third position. The energy expert Kwadwo Poku secured the fourth spot and the former food and agriculture minister Owusu Afriyie Akoto picked the fifth.

The former NPP general secretary Kwabena Agyei Agyepong, the former MP for Mampong in the Ashanti Region Francis Addai Nimoh, the economist and former regional co-operation minister Kofi Konadu Apraku and the former energy minister Boakye Agyarko picked the sixth, seventh, eighth and ninth positions, respectively.

The exercise to pick places on the ballot paper for voting in the conference took place at the NPP headquarters in Accra today (Wednesday 26 July 2023).

The balloting was postponed on Monday 24 July 2023 to Wednesday 26 July after representatives of some of the aspirants raised concerns about modalities laid down for the exercise.

Reporting by Wilberforce Asare in Accra

Asaase Radio 99.5 broadcasts on radio via 99.5 in Accra, 98.5 in Kumasi, 99.7 in Tamale, 100.3 in Cape Coast and on our affiliates Bawku FM 101.5 in Bawku, Beats FM 99.9 in Bimbilla, Somua FM 89.9 in Gushegu, Stone City 90.7 in Ho, Mining City 89.5 in Tarkwa and Wale FM 106.9 in Walewale
Tune in to broadcasts 
online:, Sound Garden and TuneIn
Follow us on Twitter: @asaaseradio995
Live streaming on Also on YouTube: 
Join the conversation. Call: 020 000 9951 or 059 415 7777. Or WhatsApp: 020 000 0995.


Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected