Drama in Parliament as NDC MPs occupy Majority side

National Democratic Congress MPs have seized the seats on the right-hand side of the chamber, usually reserved for the Majority, in the lead-up to the dissolution of the seventh parliament

Drama is unfolding in Parliament in the lead-up to the dissolution of the seventh parliament on Wednesday at midnight as National Democratic Congress (NDC) MPs occupy the Majority seats in the chamber.

According to the rules of the lawmaking body, the Minority sits on the left-hand side of the Speaker’s chair while the Majority occupies the right

However, as the House is dissolved following the 7 December election, the largest opposition party in Ghana has invaded the majority section, arguing there is no majority in Parliament now, as both parties have secured 137 seats each.

MPs of the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) have, however, taken the seats on the left-hand side, which are usually reserved for the Minority. The current parliament will end by midnight to pave way for the eighth parliament.

Follow Asaase Radio’s live coverage below for more:

*Asaase Radio 99.5 – tune in or log on to broadcasts online
#asaaseradio  #TVoL

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected