Joseph Osei-Owusu: 20-member committee set to resolve budget impasse submits report today

The establishment of the committee follows disagreements between the two sides of the House over the approval of the 2022 Budget

The 20-member committee set up to resolve  the stalemate over the 2022 Budget is expected to submit its report to Parliament today ( 7 December ) after concluding its work, the First Deputy Speaker, Joseph Osei-Owusu has said.

The establishment of the committee follows disagreements between the two sides of the House over the approval or otherwise of the budget presented to the legislature by the Finance Minister, Ken Ofori-Atta.

Speaking in an exclusive interview with Wilberforce Asare on the Asaase Breakfast Show on Tuesday ( 7 December) , Osei-Owusu said the resolution passed by the committee will influence the work of the House.

“I am aware that consequent upon  what happened on Wednesday (1 December ), the Whips formed committees from both sides of the House, some leaders and some non-leaders. And so they have been discussing conduct of members on the day and the point of disagreements.”

“I am told that they have practically reached very far and they may come to some resolution by close of day today (7 December ), if they are able to reach some resolution, that resolution will inform the work of the House,” he said.


The members of the Committee from the Majority side include Alexander Afenyo Markin, MP for Effutu, Dan Botwe, MP for Okere, Kobina Tahiru Hammond, MP for Adansi Asokwa, Patrick Boamah, MP for Okaikwei Central, and Patricia Appiagyei for Asokwa.

The rest are Lydia Alhassan, MP for Ayawaso West Wuogon,  Habid Iddrisu, MP for Tolon, Frank Annor Dompreh, MP for Nsawam Addoagyir, and Joe Ghartey, MP for Essikado-Ketan

The Minority members of the committee include Mohammed Mubarak Muntaka, MP for Asawase, Rockson Nelson Dafiamekpor, MP for South Dayi, Sam George, MP for Ningo-Prampram, James Agalga, MP for Builsa North, and Kwabena Mintah Akando, MP for Juaboso.

The rest are Ernest Norgbey, MP for Ashaiman, Richard Acheampong, MP for Bia East, Ahmed Ibrahim, MP for Banda, and Comfort Doyoe-Ghansah, MP for Ada East.

Fred Dzakpata

Asaase Radio 99.5 – tune in or log on to broadcasts online
99.5 in Accra, 90.7 in Ho, 98.5 in Kumasi, 99.7 in Tamale, 89.5 in Tarkwa, and 106.9 in Walewale
Follow us on Twitter: @asaaseradio995

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected